A few weeks back I spoke about my current and previous job(s), how difficult they were to find and how that although some of them were tough, unpleasant and soul breaking that there were skills and experience to be gained from each of them. One of the most difficult things about getting a job is having the right kind of CV. Now, I’m no guru when it comes to writing them but I am the guru’s daughter and here are some tips and tricks I picked up from the man himself and that I still use today.

The template I’m about to show you is more of a general one that you can later pick and choose from for specific job applications. Unfortunately, there is no “one size fits all” and some areas of employment are very specific about the way you present your CV. However, if you’re looking to start off or even fix up your current CV, here is a very good place to start. By the way, this template is exactly the same as the one I use. I literally copied and pasted my own CV into a blank document and just generalised it as much as I could.

So, I’ve split my CV into different sections:

  1. Introduction
  2. Current
  3. Work Experience (Short)
  4. Skills
  5. Qualifications
  6. Work Experience (Expanded)
  7. Additional Information: Hobbies
  8. References

Your main goal is to ensure the potential employer sees all of the important pieces of information first, so your CV needs to be clear and concise. I find that the best way to achieve this was by using different font types (bold and italics mainly), bullet points and tables. For example, in the first section of my CV, below my name, I have my contact details available and all I have done is used a table with two rows and three columns and the borderlines hidden to make sure that the spacing is neat.

In the second section I show all my current activities. These can be literally anything and I’ve changed them often. For instance, when I started at university I added this to current in replacement of the school I was attending. I also added the fact that I was president of the university hockey club and the part time job I had while they were relevant. As you can see below, the university/company name is in bold, the course/employment title is in italics and the dates are left as regular font. Changing font type can really make your CV pop. A possible employer may be looking for key company names/positions you could have worked for or as.

Screen Shot 2016-08-29 at 00.33.06

The third and fourth sections outline my skills and qualification. These are a lot more difficult to come up with than you think. Obviously you either get a qualification or you don’t but in regards to skills you can be a little more creative. I like to leave this until last so that I can look at my work experience (expanded) and think about what skills each duty required. As I say repeatedly on the template and in this post, don’t forget to think of your extra curricular activities! You can gain relevnt experience and skills through these that would be a waste not to mention!

Screen Shot 2016-08-29 at 00.37.57

The rest is very straight forward. I don’t even think I need to go in to it! Why not give it a go and let me know how it goes? There’s a link below for the template 🙂

Download the template here: CV Template

