Getting a job was one of the most difficult tasks of my life… So far. I am only twenty-three after all. “You need experience, to get experience” is a complete understatement. Fortunately, my father is an absolute expert when it comes to writing a curriculum vitae because he’s read so many that he knows exactly what employers are looking for! So with a bit of help from Daddy (another understatement) and a few others and my obsessive-compulsive disorder, I managed to pull together a CV that has gotten me where I am today.

Granted.. I’m working in McDonald’s as a cash counter. I do all the basics from taking your order, preparing it and doing bits and pieces in the kitchen, to cleaning the lobby and the toilets. But on top of that I help with the finances, I prepare floats for other staff, make lodgements throughout the shift and all the paperwork that follows.

It’s not ideal. It’s not my dream job. I get a lot of condolences from friends. It can be so, so trying not just because of the nature of the job but because of the way some people look at you for working at McDonald’s. But it’s a job, and it’s much better than others.

My first job was as a door-to-door fundraiser. It was absolute hell. There are a selected few occupations that all people hate and most of them start with “door-to-door”. If I had a penny for every time a door was slammed in my face, holes were picked in everything I said or I was left practically in tears because I literally couldn’t believe how cruel people could be, I wouldn’t be working at McDonald’s now. Also, the fact that there were no facilities available… No, just never again. It all paid off though.

I finished with door-to-door work and managed to bag myself a job in Maxol. I was delighted! I loved the job. I loved working with the staff. There were plenty of bad times but I much prefer to remember the good. Little did I know, this “dream job” would finish quite abruptly. I came home from college and as I walked to my front door, a neighbour called out to me and asked what had happened to Maxol. Having worked all weekend, I had no idea what she was talking about. Later that evening, I got a text saying I had lost my job. That the petrol station had closed and our jobs weren’t salvageable.

You’ll never guess where I ended up? After three or four months of unemployment… I got a job with a marketing company, as a door-to-door saleswoman. This was slightly different. It felt more professional. It’s easier to sell something to someone than ask them to give to a good cause. No one likes to part with hard earned cash. On one particularly bad day, I was getting ready to close the deal when the man of the house came home and… Smashed my whole pitch. The guy was a salesman himself. I left the house in desperately trying to hold it together. Unfortunately, my phone call with my team leader blew my efforts out of the water. We had to stop in a local pub and have a quick drink and a pep talk before going home.

Thank goodness for friends. After this and a recommendation by one of my best friends to the store manager of the McDonald’s she worked in, I got the job. I’ve been working there just over two years now. Part-time during term and full-time as often as I can. I even externally applied for a job in a different store and got it all on my own.

Regardless, each job taught me many different things. All important. All applicable to any future career I may have. So no matter how difficult and trying a job is, it’s paramount to keep in mind to not focus on the bad things and persevere. I had some really tough times in each job but it’s all a learning curve and  I try my best to see what I can take on board from each experience. And it all shows in my CV.

I’ll have a template with tips up soon!

Happy job hunting!

 

